He Means Well

 
Hubby and I have been together for about 25 years now and married for 22 of those years.  We both have a rather strange sense of humor.  We’ve always said that it’s a good thing that we ended up with each other because we don’t think that anybody else would understand (or appreciate) our strange sense of humor. 
 
Sometimes he can’t find the right word for whatever he’s trying to tell me and he’ll come up with some completely off the wall word or phrase that makes absolutely no sense and doesn’t have anything to do with whatever it is that he’s trying to tell me.  The really strange thing is that I usually understand exactly what he’s trying to say.  Of course, I get a serious fit of the giggles when I explain to him that he really meant to use some other word or phrase to get his point across.  
 
One of those "you figure it out" episodes happened today.  It might not seem so funny to everybody, but I thought it was so funny that I started laughing and couldn’t stop.  I’ve been giggling about it all day. 
 
I was getting ready to leave for work this morning when Hubby started giving me funny looks.  I asked him what was wrong and he asked if I had used a "dork wand" to do my hair this morning.  Dork wand?  What the heck is a dork wand?  He said that my hair looked funny.  What do you mean funny?  Funny – like it looks like a wig.  What the heck?!  I went into the bathroom and, sure enough, I used too much hairspray and now had helmet hair.  I can’t go to work looking like this!  Once I realized what he had said and what he meant to say it struck me so funny that I started laughing and couldn’t stop.  I was laughing so hard that I had trouble combing through my hair to get rid of some of the extra hairspray.  I finally got the problem solved and went back downstairs for one final inspection.  Hubby gave me a thumbs up and off I went to work. 
 
Before I left, though, I asked him what exactly was a dork wand.  His explanation is that a dork wand is something you use to make yourself look like a dork.  I explained that when my hair looks like a wig it’s called helmet hair and not a dork wand.  
 
Bless his heart, he really does mean well.  I have to give him credit for not wanting me to go out in public looking like a dork.  Heaven only knows how his brain comes up with some of the words that he uses. 
 
 
 
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “He Means Well

  1. Beth

    Thank you and hubby too for giving me a reason to laugh today!!

  2. Jaysey

    I think I\’m going to adopt and begin using "dork wand" on an everyday basis.  I like it!

Leave a Reply

