Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!

 
Yes!  Finally!  Snow in Ohio.  It’s only a little bit of a dusting on the grass and the rooftops, but it’s snow.  And I’m a happy girl. 
 
We’ve had 4 inches of rain since Friday night and I’m sick of rain.  I’m sick of mud.  I’m sick of being stuck in the house because the backyard is a swampy mess.  Even poor Luci and Blacky are tired of being stuck in the house.  When I let them out last night after I got home from work, they ran off the deck and ran up and down the yard.  They couldn’t believe that it had finally stopped raining.  I changed out of my work clothes and played fetch with them for the first time in days.  It was a lot of fun.  I couldn’t believe the amount of mud on my boots and pant legs . . . but it was worth it just to see them running through the yard.  Okay, Luci was running through the yard, Blacky wasn’t running but was barking at her (and me to hurry up and throw the tennis ball), and I was just standing there in the mud watching them. 
 
I’m sick of moping the kitchen floor and the mud room floor every other day.  I’ve given up on the Clorox Ready Mop stuff for now.  It’s just too expensive when you’re going through a box of 16 mop pads and a bottle of cleaning fluid every week.  Believe it or not, the best way to get the floor totally clean is the old fashioned way – getting on my hands and knees using a bucket of Pine-sol water and a sponge.  Let me tell you, you haven’t lived until you’ve mopped a floor on your hands and knees with a 16 month old puppy "helping" you. 
 
I’m sick of wiping doggie feet every time they go outside to potty.  Oh, and then there’s the number of towels that I’ve "donated" to the cause of muddy doggie feet.  I’m going to check out the January white sales just to replace some of the towels.  To be honest, though, I’ve had some of those towels since Hubby and I got married in 1984.  It’s probably way past time to get some new towels. 
 
The weather guys have been predicting these snow showers for the past few days and, to be honest, I thought they were going to be wrong (again!) and the snow would end up being more rain.  As of right now, it seems like they were actually right.  We have some snow showers and are expecting maybe an inch of total accumulation.  Okay, everyone, you can stop laughing now.  I know that an inch of snow isn’t anything compared to what some of the country has had to deal with, but you gotta understand that right now I’m looking at a swamp for a back yard.  At least the snow will help cover the mud for a little while.   And the cold temperatures will freeze the mud so it won’t keep getting tracked into the house.  Hopefully I’ll get a couple days break from the mud. 
 
So, tell me, how pathetic is it for me to be this excited about an inch of snow?   

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!

  1. Vonda

    But what fun…wiping puppy toes! I bet the "kids" had a serious case of cabin fever by the time the rain stopped…Glad you are happy with your snow…if it snowed here we would have to close down the whole town…XXX\’s & OOO\’s to your doggie friends..

  2. Brenda

    Not pathetic at all!  I had to stop and giggle when I read about your old towels.  Can you believe I still have a towel from 1981 with PAC MAN on it?  Seriously!  It\’s in such bad shape that I use it to clean bathrooms.  But if we had dogs, I\’d be using it on their muddy feet, too.  Happy snow time to you!  Much better than muddy gunk.
     

  3. Beth

    It is OK to get excited over the snow.  I really don\’t  like it.  It is pretty to look at but treacherous to drive in.  We have had snow flurries for the last 3 days but no accumulation.  It was 9 degrees this morning so our mud has pretty much frozen. 
    Hi to my doggie friends there.  Be good for mommy and stay out of the mud.  ;o)

  4. Linda

    One good thing about snow is that little doggy paws come in wet, but clean.  Enjoy your snow! 

Leave a comment