Weekend Update

 
Yep, I’m back at work.  Kind of strange to get up, get moving, and get myself out of the house in time to get to the office by 8:30 this morning.  Even though it’s Tuesday, it sure feels like a Monday.  I have a funny feeling it’s going to be a llloonnggg week. 
 
Hubby has a bad cold so he wasn’t much fun this weekend.  He did put my new XM radio in my car Saturday afternoon and took me out to breakfast at Bob Evans on Sunday morning.  He’s coughing and sniffling and his voice is all gravely.  I know he doesn’t feel good, but does he have to mention it a zillion times a day?  Why are men such terrible patients? 
 
Watched some of the Saturday Night Live first season DVD’s that Hubby and I got as a Christmas present from Blacky and Luci.  I was really uncomfortable watching the Chevy Chase skits where he impersonated President Ford.  I used to love those skits and I’m sure that it’ll be funny again in a week or so, but it just seemed wrong to be laughing at those skits after watching the beautiful memorial service at the Capitol building on Saturday night. 
 
Luci gave me a wonderful gift yesterday morning.  She is normally up every morning – including weekends – between 5:30 and 6:30 to go potty.  On the weekends, she’ll go out to potty and then will go back to sleep for about an hour or so.  Most of the time I’m up between 7:00 and 7:30 a.m. on the weekend.  Yesterday, though, the wonderful little dog let me sleep until 8 a.m.  No getting up at 5:30 to potty and then going back to bed . . . she was asleep from 11 p.m. Sunday night to 8 a.m. Monday morning.
 
I made cabbage rolls and sauerkraut yesterday.  My favorite food for New Year’s Day.  Hubby hates cabbage rolls and sauerkraut so I only make it once a year.  They were yummy and I have lots of leftovers.  Guess what I’m bringing for lunch this week? The house smells like sauerkraut . . . that’s either a good thing or a bad thing.  All depends on how you feel about sauerkraut. 
 
Hubby and I watched some of the college bowl games over the weekend.  We were happy to see USC beat Michigan . . . seems kind of fitting that the Team From Up North lost the two most important games of their season.  We were sad that Navy lost to Boston College in the last minutes of the game.  And we were wondering what the heck happened to Virginia Tech?  They couldn’t beat Georgia?  We’re waiting not so patiently for The BCS Championship Game on January 8.  Go Bucks!! 
 
Overall, I had a great time on my vacation.  I think I might have to do the week off without Hubby home again really soon.  It was wonderful. 
 
And now I’m back to reality and boxing up the 2006 files to make way for the 2007 files. 
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Weekend Update

  1. Mercy

    I love cabbage rolls! YUMMO!
     
    The PUPPY is VERY happy about me being home for the BABY. She\’s acting wonderfully around him and has kind of, not eI said kind of, curbed her jumping on the sofa when he\’s on our laps.
     
    Happy New Year!!! I\’m so glad your vacation was good.
    Mercy

  2. Stepmonster... some call me wicked

    Hey… my house smells like saurkraut too…. I always make pork tenderloin with mashed potatoes and saurkraut for New Year\’s Day… it\’s supposed to bring good luck…. sure hope it works.

  3. Beth

    I have got to say I am not fond of sauerkraut.  We had it quite a bit when I was growing up and I think  that is why.  I have never tasted a cabbage roll.  I am glad you got to enjoy them though.

  4. Jess

    Oh my God ! I want some cabbage rolls and sauerkraut ! YUM ! Love it ! Damn…now I\’m craving that …but the kids won\’t eat it …ok spaghettios for them !
     
    I did my black eyed peas for new years…I hope they work !
     
    Jess

  5. Brenda

    Sounds like you\’re ready to get back to the office after a nice relaxing holiday.  Me too… only I wasn\’t ready to return to find server issues.  Bah humbug! 🙂
     

Leave a Reply

