A Little Background Info

 
I got a comment from Dori the other day about Goldie’s liver and kidney failure and the possibility that it might have been caused by the arthritis medicine that she took.  Since Dori didn’t leave an email address or any other way to get in touch with her, I thought I’d answer her in my blog. 
 
Yes, it is possible that the arthritis meds that Goldie took could have played a part in her death, but I’ll never know for sure.  Goldie was diagnosed with arthritis in 2003 – shortly before her 12th birthday.  She was on Etogesic for a while and then switched to Deramaxx two months before she died.  Because Blacky has been on arthritis meds since he was 2, I knew that we needed to have blood work done every 6 months to make sure that the meds weren’t hurting her liver and kidneys.  We were always very careful to make sure the blood work was done and the results were always within the normal range.  
 
Goldie was 14 years old when she died and her vet had told me at her last check-up two months before she died that it was highly unusual for a lab to live to the grand old age of 14.  In the months before she died, I noticed that she had been sleeping more, she was starting to lose her hearing a bit, and she had started to lose some weight – even though she still had a good appetite and would eat anything I fed her.  At that time, the vet told me that even though she looked like she was in good shape, that I should prepare myself for the fact that I probably wouldn’t have her around for much longer.  It’s entirely possible that the liver and kidney failure was an old-age thing and not an arthritis med related thing. 
 
I’ve said that Goldie’s liver and kidney failure came about suddenly – but it’s probably more accurate to say that by the time she started to show symptoms, the disease had progressed too far for us to be able to do anything to help her.  The problems probably started after her last blood test in June 2005 but she didn’t show any signs of anything being wrong until October. 
 
Goldie was quite the trooper – she had a high tolerance for pain and never complained about anything.  We didn’t discover the arthritis until it had affected both hips, her tail, and part of her lower spine.  From the x-ray that the vet showed me, I’m sure it bothered her for quite some time but she never showed any symptoms until it hurt her so bad that she just couldn’t walk anymore.  Because she was fine one minute and not walking the next, I thought for sure that she’d had a stroke.  The vet was completely shocked that Goldie had never shown any signs of being in pain.  She did the same thing with the liver and kidney failure.  She had a good appetite, her activity level was normal for a 14 year old dog, and she seemed fine.  Then one day she got an upset tummy and I took her to the vet expecting for them to tell me she was having a gastritis attack or a possible ulcer.  They did some blood work to rule out the ulcer and that’s when they discovered that her liver and kidneys were in complete failure. 
 
Because of Goldie’s problems, I’m even more cautious about Blacky.  He was diagnosed with hip dysplasia and arthritis when he was 2 years old and has been on some sort of arthritis meds for the last 7½ years.  He has his blood work done like clockwork every 6 months and if the levels are even slightly elevated, then we do more tests to make sure that he doesn’t develop the same problems as Goldie.  If I can help it, I’m not going to be caught off guard on this again. 
 
I guess my advice to Dori would be to be aware of the dangers of the meds that the dogs are taking, but also be aware that without the meds the dogs would have a very poor quality of life.  It’s quite a balancing act . . . .
 
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A Little Background Info

  1. Tani

    Cooper had arthritis,I used a dietary supplement called next level joint fluid by sure nutrician.It is an equine product,glucosamine,shark cartilige,Msm.It helped him tremendously.I see they now make it in pellet form.When we used it it was fluid you put on the food.he loved it.

  2. Linda

    Your blog brought back memories of when we finally had to put our 15 year old springer spaniel to sleep.  I watched his deterioration with deep sadness.  It was an extremely hard decision and I still shed a tear or two over him. He\’s been gone about 5 years now.  My new puppy (we\’ve had him 2 years, so I guess he\’s not really a puppy) is loveable and a real member of the family, but he doesn\’t replace our springer.

  3. Dori

    Hi, Dori hear again, thank you for the background info on Goldie.  You know, 14 is really old for a big dog like Goldie, and her age could really have contributed to her kidney/liver failure.  It\’s so sad watching your beloved dogs go downhill.  In addition to black lab, Luke, we have a cocker spaniel, Sadie.  She is now 15 years old and going strong – except she is really deaf and has arthritis also.   I do give both my dogs glucosamine and MSN – may look into the shark cartilage, as mentioned by Tani.  Whatever would we do without our beloved pets??

  4. Big Dog Mom

    I know I was very lucky to have Goldie for 14 years.  It was hard to watch her get older and know that my time with her was going to end soon.  I was so attached to her that I even pre-arranged her cremation because I knew I would not be able to make those arrangements when she passed away.  She was a wonderful companion.  Goldie was taking a glucosamine/chrondroitian supplement in addition to the Etogesic.  Blacky also takes a glucosamine/chrondroitian supplement with his meds and it helps alot.  I\’ll look into the other supplements you guys mentioned.  Also, the vet recommended fish oil tablets to help with the inflamation and also to help with dry skin. 

  5. Dori

    OK, Dummy Dori here – trying to figure out with my wee little brain how to insert a pic of Black Lab Luke in my comment – I would appreciate advice on this from any of you \’commenters\’.  Thanks.

Leave a Reply

