Thursday Thirteen – Missing Goldie

 
One year ago today, my beloved yellow lab Goldie passed away.  She was 14 years old when she passed away and had been a part of our family for 12 years.  Other than some arthritis and occasional bouts with gastritis, she wasn’t ever really sick so it was a complete shock to me when I took her to the vet for an upset tummy and discovered that she was in full liver and kidney failure.  Unfortunately, she didn’t display any symptoms until the problem was in the advanced stage and there wasn’t anything we could do to help her.  Letting her go broke my heart but I know it was the best thing to do for her.  So instead of spending the day of thinking of the sadness of her death, I’m going to list the thirteen happiest memories I have of her. 
 
  1. I loved to listen to her snore.
  2. She came to live with us when she was 2 ½ years old, so I missed the puppy stage with her.  But I got a full dose of the rebellious teenager stage. 
  3. Hubby and I gave her dog bones every night after we ate our supper.  If she hadn’t gotten her "cookies" by 7:30 p.m., she would remind me what time it was.  I have no idea how she knew what time it was, but she did.  And she taught that trick to Blacky. 
  4. I have a scar on my right elbow from when I tripped over her once during a walk.  Yes, I tripped over a 70 lb. dog.  I am a complete klutz. 
  5. She was my shadow and followed me everywhere.  If I went somewhere and she couldn’t go, she’d sit at the front door and wait for me. 
  6. She loved to play in the leaves.  Every fall she would walk through a leaf pile with her nose to the ground and flip her head up to fling the leaves into the air.
  7. She loved to play in the snow and would make doggie snow angels.
  8. She didn’t like being out in the rain, getting a bath, or playing in the pool.
  9. She would hear me crack a hard boiled egg and come running to my side to make sure that she got a piece.
  10. During the winter, she would lay on my feet while I was watching TV.
  11. During the summer, she would sleep on the bathroom floor because it was the coolest spot in the house. 
  12. Since Blacky was only 4 weeks old when he came to live with us, she took the job of being his "Mommy" and fussed over him as if he were her own puppy.  She was the one that got me up for the 2 a.m. feedings/potty trips. 
  13. She was great with the grandkids and never objected when they pulled on her fur, petted her too hard, or took her toys.  If she would accidentally knock one of them down when they were playing, she would come to check on them to make sure they weren’t hurt. 
 And that’s all I have to say about that . . .
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thursday Thirteen – Missing Goldie

  1. katie

    Goldie sounds like she was a wonderful companion. I\’m sorry for your loss. I think it\’s great that you celebrate her memory by thinking of all of your favorite things about her. Take care,Katie

  2. Beth

    A wonderful tribute for a beloved pet (actually a member of your family.)  Goldie will live forever in your heart.

Leave a Reply

