Watch What You Wish For

 
I was so excited when I learned that 7th Heaven was coming back for an 11th season.  The "series finale" was a bit of a disappointment and I thought the Camdens (and all their loyal fans)  deserved a better ending than what they got. 
 
My weekly tradition of "Dinner with the Camdens" on Monday nights was going to continue.  But then the new season started and I was even more disappointed with the new season than I was with the finale.  The season started with a whole bunch of questions that were never really answered.  What happened to make Lucy so sad/mean?  Where is Ruthie?  Where is Simon?  Throughout the entire first episode I kept thinking that I had missed something somewhere and I was totally lost trying to follow the storyline.  It took me the entire first episode to figure out that Lucy lost the twins and the sadness/meanness was a result of her dealing with that loss.  Ruthie was in Scotland and was probably going to stay there for a while.  I still don’t know exactly where Simon is and if he is going to be on the show this year.   So this final season is going to focus on Annie and Eric, Lucy and Kevin, and Sam and David.  Okay, that’s not exactly what I was hoping for, but I’ve been watching for 10 years and I can’t stop now.  I have to see how this ends. 
 
Then they did the unthinkable and moved 7th Heaven to Sunday night.  Now I’m totally confused.  Why even bring back the show if they are going to jerk it and the viewers around so much?  Most of the main characters are gone and they moved it to Sunday night after it’s been on Monday night for most of the 10 years it’s been on the air?  One of the main characters on the show is suffering from a major depression and another of the main characters is probably going to die by the end of the season.  What were they thinking?  (Done in my best Dr. Phil imitation). 
 
It’s supposed to be a cute happy little show with good family values that left you believing in happy endings and that everything was going to be okay.  It was my weekly escape from the drama of the real world.  I’m not liking where these storylines are headed.  But I’ll stick it out until the end because I just have to know what happens to these people. 
 
I guess my mom was right.  You should watch what you wish for because you just might  end up with it.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Watch What You Wish For

  1. Alicia

    I never watchied this show much but I can completely relate.  It stinks when they do crap like that and then you can\’t catch up.
     
    I wanted to thank you for your advice on my Monday entry and let you know there is an update, if you are interested.
     
    HUGS!!  🙂 

Leave a Reply

