Should Have Named Her Eureka

 
Yesterday was yet another Luci first – her first "sick puppy" visit to the vet.  She had me up half the night Sunday night/Monday morning taking her outside for runny #2.  I now have a new appreciation for all the mommies that get up in the middle of the night with sick babies.  Thankfully we didn’t have any accidents in the house.  After about the third trip in as many hours, I realized that I wasn’t going to get any sleep and that we were going to make a trip to the vet in the morning. 
 
I did feel a little silly dragging her to the vet because she had a good appetite, her activity level was normal, and just didn’t act sick.  The only problem was the runny #2.  Since we had several incidents, I thought it was better to be safe than sorry.  Our vet has walk in appointments, so I thought I’d just load her into the Dog Mobile, head to the vet, and have the problem checked out.  I didn’t realize that yesterday was a holiday and everybody else had the same idea.  We walked into a full waiting room and were told that there would be at least an hour wait before we saw a vet.  Since I didn’t want to drag out the agony of a 13 month old puppy with runny #2, I decided to stay.  Thankfully I had the good sense to give Luci some Kaopectate before we left the house and we didn’t have any potty accidents in the vets office. 
 
The one hour wait turned out to be a two hour wait.  Believe it or not, Luci did (mostly)  behave herself during the wait.  She wanted to visit with the other doggies and kitties in the waiting room and didn’t understand why Mommy wouldn’t let her.  Since I wasn’t sure what was causing the problem, I didn’t want to expose the other animals to whatever bug she might have picked up and I kept her pretty close to me. 
 
The good news is that she doesn’t appear to have a bug or anything.  Doc thinks she’s eaten something that she shouldn’t have (not a surprise), it didn’t agree with her and is causing the problem.  He gave me a pill that I have to give her twice a day to help with infection and inflammation.  She should be fine in a few days.  The vet told me that Labs are notorious for being "Hoover Dogs" meaning that they eat everything they see.  Okay, so it’s not a Luci thing – it’s a breed thing.  That makes me feel better.  She’s just being a Lab whenever she eats a rock, bird feather, stick, work glove, sponge, plastic water bottle.  You should have seen the vet’s eyes when I listed all the things I’ve taken away from her in the past year.  He also warned me that because of her "history" we need to be careful about "foreign body obstruction" – she might swallow something that she won’t be able to pass on her own and they’ll have to do surgery to remove it.  Oh, great, another thing for me to obsess about!  
 
I’ve been worried for a while that Luci seems to be a little on the small side.  She’s seems smaller than Goldie.  Doc said that Luci is one of the smaller boned, more petite labs and she’s about as big height wise as she’s going to get.  The kicker was that he said that she could stand to lose about 4 lbs.  She weighed in at 84.4 lbs. and she’s looks a little "fluffy" to him.  He actually told me that she has some slight love handles that he’d like to see gone by the time of her yearly check-up in December.  
 
So the high I was on for my good mommy instincts about the crate got shot down by a "fluffy" Hoover dog with love handles.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a very long week.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Should Have Named Her Eureka

  1. Maria

    Thanks for dropping by my little place!  I adore Labs…they have the best disposition! 

  2. Beth

    Dear Luci,
    I\’m glad that your #2 problem has been solved.  Tell Mommy that my son\’s golden retriever would eat green tomatoes and everything else from the garden and would get the runs from it.

  3. Alicia

    I hope it\’s NOT along week, Pam.  But at least she is OK and that is what matters the most.  🙂

Leave a Reply

