New #1

 
In the past, I’ve said that my #1 Pet Peeve is not returning a shopping cart to the cart corral after you load your groceries/purchases into your car.  Bugs the living daylights out of me.  Random carts taking up parking spaces.  Carts smashing into your car when the weather turns nasty and the wind blows them willy nilly through the parking lot.  Since I live in the Great Midwest, the weather turns nasty quite frequently and it’s not uncommon to see the carts racing across the lot to some unsuspecting car. 
 
But that #1 Pet Peeve has been replaced by a new #1 Pet Peeve.  The new #1 (drum roll please!) is impolite cell phone usage.  I understand that cell phones are wonderful things.  I have a cell phone and it’s a very handy thing to have.  But I know that there is a time and place for a cell phone conversation and I’m not on the thing 24/7.  What I’m talking about are the people that walk through life with their cell phones plastered to the sides of their head and expose the rest of us to every detail of their phone conversations. 
 
You know who I’m talking about . . . The people that use their cell phone while they are driving and they don’t pay attention to what they are doing or where they are going.  The people in the grocery store, at Wal-Mart, or sitting at the next table in a restaurant carrying on extremely personal and private conversations loud enough for anyone and everyone to hear every detail.  Haven’t these people ever heard of the concept of TMI (too much information)?
 
But I saw something today that pushed cell phones in public to the #1 spot on my Pet Peeve list and me wondering "What are you thinkin’?" 
 
I went to the bank today to cash Hubby’s paycheck.  When I got to the bank, I saw a lady at the counter that was on her cell phone.  She was on her cell phone the entire time that she was at the bank.  Phone Lady never acknowledged the bank teller, never said a word to anybody except the person on the other end of the cell phone.  The conversation wasn’t a family emergency or a national crisis, just discussing her day, things that happened at work, and what she was going to do after work that day.  The tellers at the bank and I got to hear all the details of this phone call.  (Hey, if you’re going to have a private conversation in a public place, then I’m gonna listen!)  I asked the teller about Phone Lady and she said that Phone Lady was on the phone when she walked in and was on the phone the entire time she was in the bank.  The teller also told me that it happens all the time and she’s not surprised by it anymore. 
 
I just don’t get it.  Is everyone’s life so busy that we have to cram as much as possible into every single spare moment?  It bothers me that Phone Lady couldn’t even take a couple of minutes to even speak to the bank teller that was waiting on her.  No "Hello", "thank you" or anything.  Just shove a check at her, grab her money, and walk away.  How rude!!  
 
Do these cell phone people think that being on the phone gives them the right to be rude to others?  Do they have any idea of how much of life they are missing with that thing attached to their ear? 
 
That’s the end of my rant for the day . . . I think I’ll go have some chocolate now.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New #1

  1. Beth

    I so agree with you about cell phones.  In the paper today was the obit for a handsome 23 year old grad student at the UI.  He was killed while riding his bicycle right in town  while a thoughtless, stupid young lady was dialing her cell phone while driving.
    Thanks to Blacky and Lucy for the puppy kisses for us.  We appreciate your kind thoughts.

Leave a Reply

