Everyday Ordinary

Well, the final sign of the impending fall season has appeared.  Hubby’s bowling leagues have started up again.  He’s going to be bowling on Monday and Wednesday night which means that I get the house to myself and (the best part!) I don’t have to cook supper if I don’t want to.  Yipee, yipee, yipee.  
 
He is also the "6th man" on a Sunday afternoon team.  That means that he fills in when one of the regular guys can’t make it for some reason.  For the first 6 weeks, one of the regular guys coaches his son’s football team, so Hubby will be filling in for him.  After that, Hubby will fill in on an "as needed" basis.  Since Hubby is considered the "6th man" and will be bowling for the first 6 weeks, he’ll get to share in any prize money the team wins at the end of the season.  I actually like having Hubby out of the house for a few hours on Sunday afternoon.  Gives me a chance to get the housework done without somebody "watching" me and giving "helpful suggestions" on how I can do it better, faster, whatever. 
 
The Dog Mobile has been repaired.  Hubby picked it up today and said it looks exactly like it did before I dinged it.  I can’t wait to see it.  I can’t wait to drive it.  I don’t mind driving Hubby’s F150, but I miss my car.  I’m extra cautious when I’m driving the big truck because I know that it’s Hubby’s pride and joy.  I don’t get to enjoy the drive because I’m watching for tailgaters and crazy people that change lanes without looking.  The best part of the last few days is getting to listen to Hubby’s XM radio.  It’s nice to hear songs that you don’t hear very often.  Tonight I heard a Jackson 5 song and a Kentucky Headhunter’s song.  Yes, I sang at the top of my lungs. 
 
Hubby and I had to go last night to buy some shoes for him.  That man goes through shoes faster than a teenage boy.  In the last year we’ve discovered that his foot has gone from a 9-1/2 normal to a 10 wide.  We think it has something to do with the fact that he stands on his feet alot . . . or that he’s just getting older.  We couldn’t find the shoes he wanted in the right size in the store, so I have to order them online.  The store was having a buy one, get one half price sale and since we bought one pair at the store and we are going to buy one pair online, they will give me a credit for half-off the second pair of shoes when I pick them up next week.  Whoo Hoo.  Now I just need to find a couple of pairs of shoes for me.   
 
So far this week is shaping up a lot better than last week. 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Everyday Ordinary

  1. Brenda

    Sounds like you\’re going to have a great Fall season!  I think you\’re entitled to 3 pairs of shoes… just to compensate for all of your hard work in finding the right pair for Hubby.  Seriously!

  2. Beth

    What a wonderful upbeat post!  Thank you for having Blacky and Luci send us good wishes.

Leave a Reply

