Useless Stuff Stuck In My Brain . . .

 
. . . that I don’t know what to do with.  That’s what I call my extensive knowledge of pop culture. 
 
Oh, the reference of "Don’t Poke The Bear" is from That 70’s Show.  It’s what the characters would say when they didn’t want to upset Red.  Red is the dad of the show and he was always threatening to "put a foot in your ass."  I love that show.  The characters (Eric, Donna, Hyde, Fez, Kelso, Jackie) are a couple of years older than me so I can relate to that show.  I remember the music, the TV and movie references they use, and the clothes.  I really like the clothes . . . especially the vintage T-shirts that Hyde wears.  I remember guys wearing those shirts and I wonder where in the world did they find them? 
 
I’ve wandered off topic again . . . sorry about that.  What I’m trying to say is . . . Hi.  My name is Pam and I’m a pop culture junkie.  I watch way too much TV – everything from Cheaters to PBS documentaries.  I’ll listen to just about any kind of music.  Big band, bluegrass, new country, classic country, hard rock, classic rock, the new stuff.  I read everything I can get my hands on.  Newsweek, USA Today, The New York Times.  Yes, I even read Hubby’s Playboy.  (Okay, I say swear words at the naked girls, but I do actually read the articles.  Honest!)  I can surf the internet for hours and just wander to all kinds of websites and never get bored.  And the information just sticks in my head. 
 
Which is how I came to pick "Don’t Poke The Bear" as the title of my blog entry the other day.  I was thinking about what I was going to write about and that phrase just popped into my head.  It seemed perfect so I used it.  I love to play "Trivial Pursuit" but I can’t find too many people to play with me.  They’re happy to play as long as I’m part of a team, but not if it’s an individual thing.  I don’t understand why.  I don’t win all the time.  Just seems that way.  I can’t help it.  I don’t know how that answer got into my head.  No, I didn’t read the card (have you ever seen how many cards there are?).  
 
So, if there are references in my blogs that you don’t quite understand, please feel free to ask.  Sometimes I forget that not everybody has the same stuff stuck in their heads.
 
Thank you for your support!  (Stolen from a very old Bartles and James commercial.)
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Useless Stuff Stuck In My Brain . . .

  1. Brenda

    At least I remember the "Bartles and James" commercial!  There\’s hope for me yet. 🙂
     

  2. Beth

    I understood it.  ;o)

  3. Sue

    Dear me, I get it too well.  I\’m known as the Queen of Useless Information around here.  I can\’t remember what I had for breakfast, but when it comes to things like pop culture, I\’m all over it!  : ) Sue

  4. Sue

    I do hope MSN gets it together.  The other place is very challenging and not nearly as easy to set up.  I miss the photo album and music.  I wanted to get it set up just in case things really go south around here.  I\’ll keep both probably for quite awhile.  Thanks so much for coming by!  I really appreciate it.: ) Sue

Leave a Reply

