Smokie Kitty

It is with great sadness that I announce the passing of my beloved cat, Smokie.  Smokie was my 16 year old girl kitty.  The only cat in a house full of dogs.  Believe it or not, she was the boss of the house and the dogs knew it.  Well, Blacky knew it and Luci was slowly beginning to learn.   
 
Yesterday morning she just didn’t seem like herself.  She didn’t meet me at the top of the basement stairs like she usually did and when I went to feed her (she got a half can of canned cat food and a scoop of dry food every morning), she didn’t even get out of her little kitty bed to come say good morning to me.  I thought that was odd, but she sometimes had days where she didn’t get out of bed so I wasn’t overly concerned.  I went to pet her after I filled her food dishes and refilled the water dishes, and she meowed at me like normal.  I checked on her a few more times before I went to work and she was still in her kitty bed each time I checked.  I thought that was odd, but thought maybe she was having an old lady day.  Heck, if I was a 16 year old cat, I’m sure I’d have days when I wouldn’t want to get out of bed either.  When I came home from work yesterday afternoon, I found her in her little kitty bed.  She was having trouble breathing, her eyes were really wide like she was scared or something, and she didn’t seem to recognize me.  I called the vet’s office right away and told them I was on the way.  I seriously didn’t think she was going to make it long enough for me to get her to the vet’s office, but I had to at least try. 
 
 The vet techs rushed me into an exam room and did a preliminary exam on Smokie.  They discovered that along with the breathing problems, she had a very low temperature and her heart rate was very low and rushed the doc in to see us right away.  Dr. Matt did an exam on her and said that it appears that she had suffered a "vascular event" of some sort.  Either a heart attack that had thrown a blood clot to her brain or a stroke.  Either way, the prognosis wasn’t good.  He told me of some options that I had – mostly involving me watching her suffer and hoping that modern medicine would be able to help.  I told him that I’d learned a long time ago that when it came to animals just because you can do something doesn’t mean that you should do something.  He agreed with me and I decided it was time to let her go. 
 
After I got a grip and composed myself, I brought her home and Hubby and I buried her in the back yard next to the Rose of Sharon bushes.  
 
 Yes, I’m at work and I have no idea how I’m pulling it off.  I think I’m on autopilot.  Thank heavens I have the weekend to be a weepy mess.  And I thought last weekend was yucky.
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Smokie Kitty

  1. Brenda

    Oh Pam… I am so sad about the news of Smokie\’s passing.  Feel free to be as weepy as you need to be, at home or in the blogosphere.  Smokie will be greatly missed by many, I\’m sure of it. *hug*
     

  2. ...And The Little Minion

    I am so sorry to hear about your kitty! Losing an animal is so sad…

  3. Beth

    Pam, I am so very sorry about the loss of your beloved cat.  Take time to shed your tears.  I know Blacky and Luci will miss her too.

  4. Stepmonster... some call me wicked

    Oh I\’m so sorry about your kitty…. I had a cat, his name was Smokie too, he got sick one day and it cost me $2500 dollars to keep him alive but he was never the same and had suffered brain damage from the illness…. I wish that I had made the same choice as you because i prolonged his suffering….
     
    This is the worst part of having animals….. most of us outlive a whole lot of pets in our lifetime.

Leave a Reply

