Nostalgia

I’m having one of those days where I wonder where the time has gone.  Guess you could say that I’m taking a trip down memory lane.
 
First stop on memory lane. . . . getting rid of the old TV.  It was the first big purchase Hubby and I made when I got my first "real" job after I graduated from college.  I had finished half of my associate’s degree program when Hubby and I got married.  I took a year off to save money to finish the second half of the program and get adjusted to being married.  By the time I finished the program, Hubby and I had been married a year.  To celebrate our first year of marriage and me getting my degree, we bought a 25 inch floor model TV.  Oh, yea, and we got cable.  I was 22 years old and I  thought we were hot stuff.
 
Second stop . . . . I watched a documentary about The Royal Wedding over the weekend.  Saturday was the 25th anniversary of the Royal Wedding of Princess Di and Prince Charles.  I remember getting up early in the morning and spending the entire day watching the ceremony and all the other TV coverage of the event.  I had just turned 18.  How in the world is it possible that the wedding was 25 years ago?
 
Third stop . . . .watching "Roll Bounce" on HBO Sunday afternoon after we finally got the TV set hooked up.  In case you haven’t seen it, "Roll Bounce" is a movie about some kids that hang out at the local roller rink.  When their rink is closed, they have to go to a new rink and find out that they aren’t as hot as they thought they were.  The thing that got me – and had me watching every single minute – was the roller skating.  When I was in jr. high/high school, the roller skating thing was very popular.  We went every Saturday during the school year and a couple times a week during the summer.  The clothes in the movie were exactly like I remembered.  The moves that the skaters did were exactly like I remembered.  Not moves that I could do – heck I was lucky if I could stay upright on skates – but moves I remember watching the cool kids doing.  Oh, man, did that bring back a lot of memories. 
 
Now for the final stop on this trip down memory lane. . . . Tomorrow is the 25th anniversary of one of the biggest events of my teen years.  Can you guess what I’m talking about?  Anyone? Anyone?  The launch of MTV!  At 12 midnight on August 1, 1981, MTV came on the air for the first time.  Hubby told me that starting at 12 midnight tonight, VH1 is going to air MTV’s 1st day coverage.  Now I might not be up at midnight to see the beginning, but I’m definately going to check it out a couple of times tomorrow.  I can’t tell you how many hours I wasted sitting in front of the TV watching MTV – back in the day when MTV actually aired videos.  We had just gotten cable a year before, so cable was still a novelty to me, Little Sister, and Baby Brother.  We drove Mom crazy because we would spend most of our time in front of the TV just watching whatever we could find.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get to spend much time watching TV that summer . . . I had to get a job and get ready for college. 
 
It’s completely amazing to me that these wonderful memories all happened about 20 to 25 years ago.  As cliche as it sounds, it seems like it was just yesterday.  After the yucky start to the weekend, I think that this trip down memory lane was just what I needed.  
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Nostalgia

  1. David

    Sounds like a lovely time, Pam…and I remember getting up and watching the Royal Wedding myself…25 years ago…that would have made me 14. Yep, that sounds about right. Wow, how could it have been so long?

    -David //BootJockey

  2. Mercy

    I could dog rink moves!! Hey I have a blog some where about me talking my daughter in my archives even!!! LOL!
    Thanks for the lovely comment, have a GREAT week!
    Mercy

  3. Mercy

    Holy cow did I misspell that bad? WOW I need coffee BAD!!
     
    hugs,
    Mercy

  4. Brenda

    What a coincidence… looks like we were both reminiscing about life 25 years ago simultaneously!  How weird is that?
    *twilight zone music here*

  5. Unknown

    Oh yeah! The Wedding of the Century! I was living in the Azores Islands then in a house that was falling appart, high on a hill and right on the path of every storm and gale that came straight across everywhere. I felt that I wanted to be Diana, how lovely, how young and pretty and blond and, and….lucky. Who could predict the misery she went through and her tragic death? I coudln\’t believe my own ears when I heard on KGO radio that "apparently she\’d died in a car accident" it couldn\’t be! People like her aren\’t touched by tragedy, how little we do know. Her two kids are now strapping hunks…too bad she didn\’t live to see them grow up.

Leave a Reply

