When Did That Happen?

I’m sitting here at work today, typing along like normal, and I notice that my left index finger hurts a little.  I check the keyboard to see if there is something on the keys that might be causing the problem.  Nope, it’s just fine.  (I thought it might be some residue from the Cheez-it’s the other day.)  Next I look at my finger and notice a bruise on the end of my finger.  I’m right handed, so I’m wondering what in the world I did to hurt my left index finger?  I don’t remember slamming it in a door or pinching it anywhere.  Hmmm, I wonder what did I do this time?    

 

I will admit that I’m a klutz.  It’s not unusual for me to have a bruise somewhere on my body and most of the time I have no idea what I did to get the bruise.  But normally the bruises are on my leg, or my shin, or on my arm.  Depending on where the bruise is, I can figure out what happened.  Usually I run into the chest of drawers in the bedroom (upper arm bruise), the corner of my desk at work (hip bruise), or the coffee table in the living room at home (shin bruise).  Then there was the bruise on my knee about a month ago when Luci and I were playing fetch and she didn’t stop in time and ran head first into my knee.  But for the life of me, I can’t remember how I would have gotten a bruise on the end of my finger.      

 

Then it dawned on me what must have happened.  When I’m home, I have a choker collar on Luci so that I can her attention when she’s misbehaving.  I usually latch my finger through the collar and give it a light tug.  That usually gets her attention and she stops whatever she’s doing.  The other night, though, she just wouldn’t listen or settle down for anything.  Even after I grabbed the collar, she was bucking and trying to get away from me.  All of this drama because she had a rock in her mouth and she knew I was going to take it away from her.  She must have twisted the collar around my finger and pinched my fingertip.  

 

It’s either that or Hubby bit the end of my finger during the night to get me to stop snoring.  I’m betting that it was Luci’s fault.  I’m telling you, that dog is going to be the death of me yet. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “When Did That Happen?

  1. Beth

    You have a humorous way of writing that is very entertaining.  Did you tell hubby your theory of what might have happened to your finger?  :o)

  2. Brenda

    You\’re not going to believe this Pam… but I had a similar experience a couple of weeks ago.  One day I woke up with this bright pink bruise on my forearm and could NOT figure out where it came from.  I still don\’t know, but I\’ve watched it turn blue and green in wonderment.  (Know what?  I\’m really starting to think my hubs tried to get me to stop snoring, too!)

Leave a Reply

