I Can’t Win

My birthday was Monday.  I had the day off as part of my mini-vacation but Hubby had to work until 6 p.m.  Hubby and I planned to go out to dinner for my birthday on my birthday but things didn’t quite go according to plan.  Hubby had to go check on the boat at the Marina and then the grandkids were coming over to spend the night.  Since we weren’t going out (and I wasn’t cooking), I ordered my favorite pizza from Pizza Hut and told Hubby that he had to take me out later in the week for my fabulous birthday dinner. 

 

Going out to dinner with Hubby can be a pain in the tushie.  Hubby has acid reflux and we have to be careful where we go because we have to make sure that there are things on the menu that won’t give Hubby an acid reflux episode.  If the choice had been left up to him, we would have gone to either Cracker Barrel or Bob Evans.  I like the food at Cracker Barrel and Bob Evans, but I had something a little more exciting in mind for my birthday.  After all it was MY birthday . . . besides, we had some gift cards that we had gotten for Christmas that were gathering dust and I used them as an excuse to go to someplace different. 

 

We finally went out for my birthday dinner last night.  I gave him a choice of Applebee’s or TGI Friday’s and he said that he would go to either place.  I went online and checked the menus of both places and saw that there were several things on the menus of both places that he would be able to eat without kicking up the acid reflux.  I picked Applebee’s because I saw the chicken parmesan and decided that’s what I wanted for my birthday dinner.  

 

We got home from work yesterday and took off for Applebee’s for my birthday dinner.  Another thing I should mention about Hubby is that he hates to wait for a seat in a restaurant and he was less than thrilled when Applebee’s parking lot was almost full when we got there.  I knew if we had to wait for a seat, he was going to drag me over to Bob Evans.  Luckily, we didn’t have to wait for a table.  We looked at the menu, but I had already decided on what I wanted so I double checked to make sure there were things on the menu that Hubby would like.  There were so I thought it was going to be a good night.  Famous last words.  Hubby got a club sandwich that had some sort of barbeque sauce on it that kicked up an episode.  I heard about it all the way home.  He spent more time complaining about that silly sandwich than he spent eating the thing.  We’ve been living with this acid reflux thing for 2 or 3 years now and I know it’s painful and I know there really isn’t anything we can do once an episode starts . . . but is complaining to me about it all night going to make the pain go away?  No, it won’t.  I think he complains so that I’m in pain, too.  I finally told him that I don’t consider my day complete until I’ve given him at least one thing to complain about.  That stopped the complaining.  Then I took the dogs for a walk – one at a time – and left him alone for about an hour to think about what I had just said.  By the time I got back, he was in a better mood.  And he wasn’t complaining.  

 

Even though he grumbled and complained practically the whole time, he didn’t ruin my night.  I didn’t have to cook.  I didn’t have to do dishes.  I managed to get him out of the house and the chicken parmesan was wonderful.  But I had to agree to add Applebee’s entire menu to the foods he can’t eat because of the acid reflux.  Sounds like a fair trade to me.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Can’t Win

  1. Beth

    A belated Happy Birthday to you!!  I am glad you got to have your birthday dinner.  I have acid reflux too.  I take prescription meds and also Maalox.  Does your hubby take anything to help him?  If not, get him to the doctor if you can.
    Wishing you, hubby, and your \’kiddies\’ a great weekend.

  2. Brenda

    Applebee\’s works for me on any (all!) occasion(s).  Happy belated birthday, and good job on your choice in restaurants! 🙂

Leave a Reply

