The Wonder Year

Today is Luci’s 10 month birthday.  Which means that she’s been living with us for 8 months.  I can’t believe that it’s been that long.  I can’t believe how fast the last 8 months have flown by.  I really can’t believe how fast she’s grown and how much she’s changed. 

 

Not only have the last 8 months zipped past me, but Luci spends most her time zipping past me as well.  She’s out running in the yard, or she’s zipping through the house trying to find the cat.  She’s always on the go.  The only time that she’s quiet is when she’s asleep.  I’ve had several people tell me what a beautiful dog Luci is, but I’ve been so busy with the day-to-day stuff of raising a puppy that I’ve never had the chance to appreciate her beauty or her personality.  On Saturday, I finally had that chance.  Earlier in the day Luci and Blacky played in the pool. That usually wears her out and early Saturday evening she wasn’t nearly as active as she normally is.  After a short nap, she and I went to sit on the deck.  I was trying to decide if the weather had cooled off enough for me to take her for a walk.  Luci sat quietly next to me on the deck.  She watched the birds flying in the trees, watched the cars going up the side street next to our house, and sniffed the breeze.  She didn’t seem to be in a big hurry to do anything in particular, so I had a chance to get an up close look at this beautiful dog.   She looks like she’s made out of black velvet and she has the most beautiful clear brown eyes I’ve ever seen.  I never noticed it before, but she’s got a few stray white hairs on her chin that kind of look like she’s got a bit of an old lady beard.   Like I said, she never sits still long enough for me to get a really good look at her up close. 

 

It seemed like it had cooled off a bit, so I decided to take her for a walk.  I’m still trying to teach her to come when called, I use a really long training leash.  I let her wander away from me and then tell her, “Luci, come” and tug on the leash.  It works fine when we use the training leash, but not so well when I try it in the back yard without the leash.  She’s a curious little girl and has discovered the bunnies that live in the neighborhood, so I gave her full run of the leash so she could find some bunnies.  She was at the end of the leash and sniffing along a fence line and I just watched her walk along.  She sniffs every tree, every fence line.  She really likes when we go walking the night before trash day.  All those trash cans and their wonderful smells.  Normally she walks along with her nose to the ground like she’s a big game hunter.  We continued along on our walk and it was just starting to get dark and the lightning bugs (fireflies or whatever you call them) were starting to come out.  I’ve never had a dog that paid any attention to the lightning bugs before, but she does.  She was trying to figure out where they came from and where they went.  I’m teaching her to sit and wait before we cross the street.  I swear this dog will look both ways and then look at me to say “It’s okay to go now, Mom.”  She notices airplanes that fly overhead.  She watches the birds the land in the back yard.  She’s not too fond of motorcycles (especially the noisy ones), but she’ll watch them go by. 

 

Since she was kind of tired from playing in the pool earlier in the day, she wasn’t nearly as hard to handle as normal.  She actually listened to the commands and sat and waited at the corners before I could even get the “Sit” command out.  It gave me a glimpse of the dog that she’s going to grow up to be.  It gave me some hope that all this work that I’ve been doing these last 8 months will finally pay off.  Maybe everyone is right and she really will outgrow this wild puppy stage eventually.  I just have to be patient. 

 

If I’m patient and keep up the hard work, I’ll get to spend the next few years with a wonderful friend.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Wonder Year

  1. Amber

    That\’s the key with puppies and toddlers: wear them out and they\’re much more obedient!

  2. Alicia

    How nice to have such a good dog!  It makes pet ownership so much more rewarding, doesn\’t it??  She sure is a beauty!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

  3. Alicia

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, PAM!!!!  🙂

  4. Nikki

    I agree with Amber.  That\’s what I do with my cat.  I would wear him out and at night I would have a peaceful sleep…..no more cat howling at the moon or what not.  🙂  Did I wish you a Happy birthday yet?  If not….Happy birthday!!!

  5. Beth

    Happy 10 month birthday Luci!!!

Leave a Reply

