Wednesday Stuff

Thanks to Velvet Tush, I now have two very old Hee-Haw songs stuck in my head.  It’s not pretty.  I’m walking around the office with both of them playing one after the other.  Remember the "If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all" and the "searched the world over and thought I found true love" songs.  That’s what’s playing in my head . . . . (and now they’re probably stuck in yours!)

 

I’m still driving Hubby’s truck.  The Dog Mobile has a transmission problem.  Nothing serious enough for a recall, but happens often enough that they have a special service bulletin out on the issue.  The rental car thing didn’t work out because the special extended warranty the previous owner bought isn’t automatically transferred to a new owner when the car is sold.  The service manager was going to give me a free loaner, but the dealership didn’t have any loaners available.  That’s okay.  I’m more concerned about the car getting fixed and back to me.  Even the XM radio isn’t enough to make me feel better about driving Hubby’s truck.  I’m always afraid that something is going to happen to it while I’m the one driving.  I’d never hear the end of that.  The good thing is that the guys at the parking garage always park the truck for me since I’m afraid that I’m going to crash into another car – or a support beam. 

 

Had to order Blacky’s "firecreacker" meds today.  They’re sedatives that knock him out so that he doesn’t hear or care about the firecrackers.  He’s a very nervous dog and doesn’t like storms or loud noises.  The 4th of July just makes him crazy.  He pants and paces and drools.  He’ll stick very close to either me or Hubby.  We got some sedatives for him a couple of years ago and they really helped.  He slept through the fireworks, but the next day he was kind of dopey and Hubby had a real problem with that.  Blacky is Hubby’s "big guy" so Hubby really fusses over him.  We still give him the meds, just not as strong a dose.  Blacky isn’t completely knocked out but doesn’t really care about the noise and he’s not as dopey the next day.   

 

I was reminded of a very important lesson last night.  Dogs are very schedule oriented.  I’ve been taking Luci for a walk at about 8:30 every night for the last couple of weeks.  Last night I didn’t take her for her walk because I went to visit my folks.  (Every other Tuesday we all gather at Mom & Dad’s house to visit for a few hours in the evening.)  I got home about 9:30 and Luci was ready to go the minute I hit the door.  Unfortunately, it’s dark at 9:30 at night and I told her we weren’t going, but that I would play fetch with her in the back yard.  She liked that idea, but all night long she kept looking at me like "okay, mom, when are we leaving?"  She didn’t want to settle down and go to bed.  She wanted to play with Blacky once we did go to bed.  I finally had to threaten her with spending the night in her crate to get her to settle down and go to sleep.  She settled onto her little doggie bed and gave the most pitiful little sigh I’ve ever heard.  I figured that she’d be up every two hours bugging me to go out, but she slept through the night and didn’t get up until my alarm went off at 5:30 p.m.  She behaved herself this morning – came when I called her and everything.  So I promised her that I would go walking with her tonight before I started supper and then again after supper.  It’s kind of selfish on my part.  I’m hoping to wear her our so that I don’t have a repeat of the fit of energy she had at bedtime last night.

 

Now I’m off for my favorite part of the day.  Lunch at the river.  I can’t wait to see what everyone is wearing as they splash in the fountains.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Wednesday Stuff

  1. Beth

    People watch for me too.  I love to do that!

  2. Nikki

    Too bad about the whole car loaner thingy.  I hope you\’ll get ur car back soon.  🙂  Yes….Diesel gets a little jumpy on 4th of July too.  At my apartment, there are two different firework shows around my area and from my window I get to see them both.  Good for me butnot good for Diesel.  The loud noise scares him and he\’s normally in my closet, hiding.  And I leave him there….  Well take it easy!

  3. Mercy

    YES!!! Expresso and a puppy…perhaps that one is more politically correct!!!
     
    Thanks for the idea!
    hugs,
    Mercy

Leave a Reply

