What Makes A House A Home

On Friday, I took Blacky and Luci to the kennel about 9 a.m.  I figured it would be easier to get the housework and packing done if they weren’t underfoot – and if I didn’t have to check on Luci every 15 minutes to make sure she wasn’t doing something that she wasn’t supposed to be doing.  That part of the plan worked perfectly.  I got all the housework done and all the packing done in plenty of time and was ready when Hubby got home from work at 4 p.m.
 
The part that I didn’t plan on was how much I missed having them underfoot.  I missed checking on Luci every 15 minutes to make sure she wasn’t digging to China or eating heaven knows what that she found in the backyard.  I missed having to make Blacky move from room to room when I ran the sweeper.  The house was quiet and there wasn’t anybody to take off with my Swiffer duster, or to put nose prints on the freshly washed glass in the front and back door, or walk across my freshly mopped floors.  I missed them, but I was so busy getting ready for the trip that it wasn’t completely awful to not have them around. 
 
 
Even though we got home on Sunday night, Blacky and Luci spent an extra night at the kennel because they had appointments with the groomer on Monday morning and it would be early Monday afternoon before they came home.  After the stressful trip, it was nice to be able to sleep in.  Hubby and I slept until about 9 a.m.  We puttered around the house and did a few things.  Mainly we were just waiting until it was time to get the dogs.  The house seemed very strange without them here.  The glass in the front and back door was still spotless.  There wasn’t any dog hair anywhere in the house.  No dog food crumbs.  No muddy paw prints in the mudroom.  No hissing from the cat because Luci had her cornered somewhere.  I didn’t have to listen to Hubby holler about the holes that Luci had dug in the yard.  I didn’t have Blacky scratching at the back door to tell me that Luci was eating rocks.  It was quiet and the house was clean.  I didn’t know what to do with myself and I have never been so bored in my life.
 
The groomer called at 2 p.m. to let us know that the dogs were ready to come home.  I can’t remember the last time that Hubby and I moved so fast to get somewhere.  Within a few minutes after Luci and Blacky hit the front door, the glass was smudged, the floor had dog hair and dog food crumbs on it, and there were dog toys scattered everywhere.  I was a happy dog mommy.   
 
Blacky and Luci are what makes this house a home. 
7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “What Makes A House A Home

  1. Jenn

    We made the mistake of sending Brandy to a 12 week boot camp and I have never in my life had such a quiet house. I hated it. No matter how much I talk about Brandy being a pest, I still love her and would miss her like crazy if she left us.

  2. Beth

    A wonderful post.  What a good dog mommie you are.  Bless you!

  3. s46

    You feel about your dogs, like I feel about my children! I think it\’s awesome. My best friend Donna is the same as you except for her it\’s her cats.
     
    Scandie

  4. GraPHIX Wire

    What a wonderful blog, and I love how much you love your animals.  I\’ll be sure to hit your blog on my daily walk!  Thanks for the kind comment!

  5. Rosebay

    I agree with you about your pets. Mine mean so much to me I don\’t know I will do without them.

  6. Stepmonster... some call me wicked

    I love my dogs too…..  I have 3 and people think I am crazy to have so many….  they hang out in the house, sleep on the bed, and eat right in the kitchen….  I wouldn\’t give them up for anything…hair or no dog hair.

  7. Ginger

    Well put!  If I go anywhere and have to board the cats or they have to stay at the vet\’s for any reason, I\’m lost…In fact, I can\’t sleep well until my Siamese is at the foot of the bed.  Weird how they incorporate themselves into such a big part of our lives…… but, hey , I wouldn\’t have it any other way either.   Hope you are feeling better and having a good day!

Leave a Reply

