Monumental Decision

I’m a natural blonde.  No really, I am.  Says so on my driver’s license and everything.  I got my first gray hair when I was 24 years old.  (About 20 years ago.  Teenage stepdaughters will do that to a person.)  I’ve always wondered what it would look like if I let the hair go naturally gray – or white as it’s turning out.  But I wasn’t brave enough to go through with it so I started highlighting it about 5 or 6 years ago.  Not so much to cover the gray, but to do something about the fact that the natural blonde had turned to some icky dishwater blonde color that I really didn’t like.  I’m still curious about letting my hair go naturally gray and now that I’m starting to notice more gray hairs are falling out than blonde ones, it might be time. 

 

I look at it like this.  I’m going to be 43 years old next month.  I’ve worked hard to get the gray hair and the wrinkles and I should be proud of them.  My mom has beautiful white hair and from what I remember of my Grandma S. (she died when I was in the 4th grade), she had beautiful white hair, too.  For all I know, beautiful white hair runs in the family.  Hubby doesn’t seem to notice if it’s blonde, brown, or gray, so why not. 

 

Part of my reasons for wanting to go natural is my 25th high school reunion is next month.  I know that there will be a bunch of ladies there that have spent a lot of time and money hiding their true hair color, hiding the wrinkles, dieting to get back to their high school weight.  They’ve spent all that money to look like they haven’t aged a day in 25 years.  I’m proud of the fact that I’ve been out of high school for 25 years and I want to look like I’ve been out of high school for 25 years.  Since there’s a 9 year age difference between me and hubby, and I’ve always looked younger than I really am, it’s important for me to look my age.   

 

But then that brings me to the "when did I get this old" question and the fact that I don’t feel like I’m soon-to-be 43 and out of high school for 25 years.  Guess it’s not about what the package looks like on the outside, but how you feel on the inside.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monumental Decision

  1. Beth

    You said that just exactly right.  It is what is inside that counts.  Color your hair or leave it natural.  It really makes no difference just so long as you are true to yourself.

  2. Nadine

    Oh NO I am fightin\’ it every step of the way……bring on the dye!
     
    My hair is naturally strawberry blonde…more strawberry than blonde but as I have gotten older….it is gettin\’ very dark…..We can\’t have that!!
     
    Here\’s to being perpetually 35!!  *clink the glasses* Last year Roy and I celebrated my 7th Annual  35th B\’day!!!

Leave a Reply

