My Very Own Happily Ever After

This weekend marks the 24th anniversary of my first date with Hubby.  (Yes, I’m one of those people who remembers stuff like this.)  In honor of that wonderful date, I’ll tell the story of how we started out . . .

 

My first job out of high school was as a delivery driver for a local auto parts store.  My across-the-street neighbor was the manager of the store and he needed a part-time driver.  I needed a part-time job to work around my class schedule at the local community college.  Hubby was the assistant manager at the auto parts store. 

 

I didn’t like Hubby when I first met him and he didn’t like me.  He was going through a rough patch in his first marriage and was (in my opinion) an asshole.  He had no sense of humor, he had a short temper, and didn’t cut me any slack because I was a girl.  He really expected me to lift 40 lb. bags of oil dry, 5 gallon drums of paint thinner, and lift brake drums off a tractor.  He thought that I was an ice princess.  

 

Over time, I found out about Hubby’s problems at home and discovered that’s why he was always in such a bad mood.  He eventually started warming up to me and I learned that he wasn’t such a bad guy after all.  We played practical jokes on each other – he taped up my coat and held it hostage for a day.  I taped up his coffee cup with masking tape just after he had filled it – and taped it to the parts counter.  He got back at me by taping up my entire desk.  I gave up trying to get back at him.  His brain works too fast for me. 

 

Hubby’s soon-to-be ex-wife didn’t like me because I was an 18 year old college student that was working with her husband.  At the time, I had just broken up with a boyfriend (another blog all by itself!) and had no interest in anyone else.  Besides that, Hubby was OLD!  (There’s a 9½ year age difference between us.)  It actually got to be a joke at the store about me and Hubby having an affair. 

 

Hubby got divorced on a Monday, he asked me out on Tuesday, and we went out that Friday.  We’ve been together ever since.  

 

Who says Happily Ever After never happens?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Very Own Happily Ever After

  1. Nikki

    Aaaawwwww….that\’s a sweet story.  Isn\’t it always the woman who always remember the important dates?  Anway Happy Anniversery!

  2. Beth

    Happily ever after does happen.  I am glad you found your soulmate!

  3. Suzalita

    What a great story! I love hearing how people met – I met my hubby at a singles dance – lol!

  4. Unknown

    Once upon a time a older lady told me that she\’d been married for 40 years, when I congratulated her she replied "well, thanks, but\’s too early to brag and too late to change" I never forgot that saying, and I can truly say that no matter how long you\’ve been married it\’s always \’too early to brag\’ as for too old to change, it doesn\’t hold either. I know someone who filed for divorce after 39 years and informed his wife via email. Marriage is a lottery and I envy those who won the first prize.

Leave a Reply

