One Symptom at a Time

Okay, folks, I want to know if anybody else has had this problem . . . I’ve got a cold.  Had it all week.  But I’m getting one symptom at a time.  You’d think that this would be a good thing.  But it’s not.  If I’m going to be sick, I want to be sick and get it over with.  This has been dragging on for a blinking week.  I’ve taken so much cough syrup and cough drops that I have no taste buds left.  (Can’t taste, don’t want to eat . . .maybe that’s a plus?)  And it’s not showing any signs of stopping.  Started out with a scratchy throat on Sunday.  Got a dry cough on Monday.  Tuesday was heavy feeling in chest, productive cough, and raspy voice.  Wednesday was the alternating stuffy/runny nose and watery eyes.  Today is just the uncontrollable coughing fits.  What in the world is with this one symptom at a time thing?  Shouldn’t I be getting all the symptoms at once, have them last a couple of days, and then be done with this?  At this rate, I’ll be sick all summer.

 

Oh, yea, it’s finally gotten warm here.  I’ve got this cold and it’s 80 degrees outside.  Supposed to be near 90 by the end of the weekend.  Hubby wants to turn on the AC tonight.  I’m doomed.

 

I know I’m whining.  It’s beautiful outside and I feel like crap.  My nose is sore from constantly blowing it.  I’m tired of smelling like cough drops.  I’m tired of taking cough syrup or cold meds.  I’m tired of going to the bathroom every 30 minutes because of all the water I’m drinking.  I’m sorry that Hubby hasn’t gotten any sleep because the cold is making my snoring worse.  I’m sorry that my snoring has even gotten the dogs up in the middle of the night.  (You know it’s bad when you wake the dogs!)  I don’t get sick very often, but when I do I sure do it up right. 

 

I sat outside on my favorite bench at lunch and soaked up some sun.  That helped some.  But I don’t know if it was the benefits of the sun or the fun I had people watching during lunch hour in the beautiful downtown area . . . .

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “One Symptom at a Time

  1. Beth

    I will just whine along with you Pam.  I picked up a bug while Jim was in the hospital.  I have been on antibiotic since Monday and if anything I feel worse.  Must be some new super kind of germ you and I have.  Here\’s hoping we both get better soon.

  2. Ginger

    I had something similar awhile back…… it was awful!  So I sort of know how you feel.   I hope you feel better soon and were out of the path of alll those nasty storms last night!  Have a good weekend!

  3. Broken

    Unless you\’re having an allergy attack from pollen or something, you just have a bad bug that has to run its course. Just becareful that you don\’t get bronchitis or pneumonia from it. I had something similar back right after Christmas and wound up with double pneumonia. I FELT okay so I just kept going until the doctor sent me home and banished me from work.
    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

