Do You Remember?

I went to see the United 93 movie over the weekend.  I give it two thumbs up and I think that every person needs to see this movie.  It’s not too soon for this movie to have been made.  They showed the second plane crashing into the tower and, I have to admit, my heart stopped for a second – just like it did the first time I saw it.  We need to see those images every now and then.  We need to remember.  We need to never forget the people who died and their families.  We need to remember that ordinary people did extraordinary things when faced with an unbelievable horror. 

 

After I left the theatre, I thought about all the other historical moments that have occurred during my lifetime.  Even though I’m only 42 years old, there have been quite a few. 

 

JFK assassination – I don’t have any direct memories of this event, because I was only 4 months old at the time.  My mom tells me that she and I were in the living room watching "As The World Turns" while she was feeding me lunch. 

 

Man landing on the moon – I remember my mom and dad getting us kids out of bed so that we could watch the men land on the moon.  I was only 6 years old and it didn’t seem like a very exciting thing to be watching on TV, but Mom and Dad were excited and it meant we got to stay up a little later. 

 

Man walking on the moon – I remember watching the moon walks at school.  The teachers would drag a TV into the room and all the kids would gather around to watch.  Again, not a very impressive thing when you’re in the first or second grade. 

 

First shuttle explosion –  I was working for a mortgage banking company long before CNN and before internet access.  We had a computer system that gave interest rate quotes and some limited headlines.  The headline came across that the shuttle exploded during take off.  I went home for lunch that day to watch it on TV. 

 

Second shuttle explosion – Hubby and I were on our way to MIL’s house and heard a report that the shuttle was "lost."  Hubby and I looked at each other and said (at the same time) "How do you lose the space shuttle?"  We were glued to the TV for the rest of the morning. 

 

Regan assassination attempt – I was a senior in high school and I heard about the attempt during my government class. 

 

John Paul II assassination attempt – Senior year, study hall, last period of the day.  Someone came into the study hall room and said that someone shot the Pope.  Someone asked who had gotten shot, and the reply was "The Pope, you know, our Pope." 

 

September 11 – This could be a blog all of it’s own – and probably will be later.  When I heard the first report of a "small plane" crashing into the World Trade Center, I thought "how can you not see the World Trade Center??"  After we heard the reports of the second plane hitting, that’s when it started to get scary.  We turned the TV’s on in the office and they stayed on all day.  The strangest memory I have of that time is the fact that there were no planes in the air for days.  There is a major airport, an Air Force Base, and an Air National Guard base near where I live.  We’re used to planes being around all the time.  It was just creepy to not see or hear the planes. 

 

So what memories do you have of those events?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Do You Remember?

  1. Brenda

    Great post on the movie!  You\’ve got me interested in seeing it now.  As for memories about events, what about Elvis\’ death?  I remember staring out the window of a day care center at an Air Force Base bored out of my skull waiting for my mom to arrive.  (The smell of that place… how I wish I could forget it.)

  2. Nikki

    I remember sept 11 and I think I\’ll always remember it.  I remembered that I was planning to skip class that day and go shopping with my friend.  I woke up at 7am cause the TV was on and i saw my friend was already awake and was glued to the TV….watching CNN.  My friend is never awake before 10 so it was weird to see her awake and shes  actually watching CNN…..i don\’t think she even knew the channel number.  Then she called me over to watch it.  And for the rest of the day, we spend the day on the bed….watching it all on TV.  We saw the whole building fall…..it was eerie….never in my lifetime that I thought something this horrible could happen.  So sad  😦

  3. Nadine

       I was at work like most folks……the Hill\’s Pet food delivery dude told me and Roy. Roy went home to watch on TV. I thought the man was joking. It just rips my heart out every time.
      I was at the dentist when the Bomb went off in OKC…..Roy was at a class in OKC…..He had to stay there for 3 days for security. He is a retired cop.
     
    I personally can not watch United 93 at the theater…I would cry the whole way thru. I will have to wait for the DVD.

Leave a Reply

