Peace and Quiet

Arrrgh!!  I know I posted this yesterday.  Don’t know where it ended up, so I’m posting it again.  Hope it sticks this time! 

 

 

The boss is on vacation this week.  He hasn’t come into the office, he hasn’t called, and I’ve only gotten a few emails from him.  Wow, he was serious when he said he wanted a week away from the office.  I’m sure he’s probably doing some work from home, but at least he’s sticking to his promise to stay away from the office. 

 

That leaves me here all alone.  Not necessarily a bad thing.  I can listen to my radio a little louder than I normally do.  I can come back from lunch a little late (don’t tell anybody!).  I can go out for a 3 p.m. walk if I want.  Yea, life is good.

 

I’m actually getting stuff done.  Month end reports, quarterly reports, filing (yuck!).  Why is it that there is always filing to do.  No matter how hard I try to keep up with it, there’s always something that needs to be filed. 

 

The weather here has been beautiful the last few days and it’s been really hard to stay focused on what I need to get done here at the office during the day.  I just want to be home playing with the puppies.  Luci is learning how to play fetch.  She’s got the "run after the ball" part down really good.  Now I’m teaching her the "bring the ball back to Mommy and drop it so Mommy can throw another ball."  She’s a little slow on the uptake on that part.  She’s trying to figure out how to carry two tennis balls in her mouth at the same time.  She had it figured out the other day, but then Blacky ran into her and knocked them both out of her mouth and she hasn’t figured it out again. 

 

I’ve started the spring arthritis treatment schedule for Blacky.  He takes one Rimadyl a day during the winter for his arthritis.  Once it starts to warm up, I try to wean him off the 1 pill a day dosage and see what dosage he needs to be comfortable.  Last summer I was able to get him down to one pill a week.  That worked until the first cold snap of the fall and we had to work our way back to one pill a day.  So far he’s doing pretty good with one pill every other day.  Having a little sister to play with is helping him, too.  He’s moving and running a little more than he did before and that’s always good.  The more he moves, the more muscle he builds, the less strain on the hips.  He’s starting to show his age around his mouth, but you’d never know he’s 7 years old to watch him run and romp with Luci in the back yard.

 

Okay, time for me to get back to work.  Don’t want the boss to think I sat around all week and did nothing.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Peace and Quiet

  1. Nikki

    So work has been a little more relaxing then, huh?  My friend thought her cat to do the run after the ball and bring the ball back trick.  I tried to teach my cat that, but he don\’t seem that interested in the ball at all.  He just looks at the ball as it bounce away.  Lazy bugger!  🙂  Take it easy!

  2. Kadrin

    Glad to hear all is going well with you and yours : ) hugs Kat

Leave a Reply

