Dirty Little Secret

Yesterday when I was doing my blog visits, I admitted to something that I’ve never admitted to before outside of my family.  Yes, I have a problem and I’m going to share it with all of blogland.  I watch Dora the Explorer and Blue’s Clues.  Not because I have toddlers in my house and I have to.  I watch them because I want to.  It started out innocently enough, but now I think I have a problem.  I was introduced to Blue’s Clues through my two middle nieces.  I was babysitting them one day and they wanted to watch Blue’s Clues.  Okay, I thought, how bad can this be?  Ohmygawrsh, Blue’s Clues was the cutest show I had ever seen.  I loved the cute little dog, Steve the dorky guy, and all Blue’s cute little friends – Periwinkle, Magenta, Paprika, Side Table Drawer.  At the time, I was in my late 30’s and watched the show every chance I got.  No, I didn’t tape the show, but I made sure that I watched the prime time specials whenever they were on.  I even collected some of the smaller Blue’s Clues and a friend bought a Blue’s Clues Color-Form set for me.  I didn’t even mind when Steve left and Joe took his place.  

 

I was introduced to Dora by my youngest niece.  She just loves all things Dora and even had a Dora themed birthday party this year.  I watched the show to see what the attraction was and also fell in love with this show.  I have to admit that I’m not as rabidly devoted to Dora as I am to Blue. 

 

These days most of my exposure to Blue and Dora through Nick Jr. on CBS on the weekend.  Luci is up for the day when the birds start singing – about 7 a.m. – and that means that I’m up for the day at that time, too.  I have the TV on for background noise while I’m doing my morning stuff – fixing breakfast for Smokie, Luci & Blacky, fixing my tea, making coffee for Hubby – and Dora and Blue are on just before the local news on this particular channel.  While technically I could say that I’m waiting for the news, the truth is I’m watching Blue and Dora.  

 

I feel much better now that I’ve divulged my secret.  Is this where I stand up and say, "Hi, my name is Pam and I’m a Blue’s Clues addict."?  

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dirty Little Secret

  1. Nikki

    Lol.  OK, I admit, I\’m a spongebob addict.  I love watching that cartoon…..it really does relaxes me when I watch that cartoon.  Although I will never admit it to any of my friends….here in blog land, it\’s safe.  🙂

Leave a Reply

