Just Half Her Energy

Hubby and I are still trying to figure out a way to keep Luci from digging holes in the yard – and we’re not very successful at it.  Everything I’ve tried works for a while and then she either picks a new spot to dig or decides that she likes the taste of whatever horrible thing I’ve mixed in the dirt to keep her from digging.   Cayenne pepper, horrible No Dig spray, Tabasco Sauce, garlic powder, citrus spray – you name it, we’ve tried it.  And it hasn’t phased her in the least. 
 
But I digress . . . the real topic of my entry tonight is that I wish I had just one-half that dog’s energy.  She runs at top speed from the minute she opens her eyes in the morning until we go to bed at night.  Earlier tonight I was out in the yard with her to make sure she didn’t dig any new holes and watched her run up and down the length of the yard just for the pure joy of running.  She has this plastic tire thing with a piece of rope attached to it that she was swinging back and forth as she ran through the yard.  When she got tired of that toy, she picked up her squeeky football shaped tennis ball and ran with that in her mouth.  She checked out Hubby’s boat that’s stored in the back yard, ran around the metal shed, sniffed at the apple tree, tried to get the pop cans I was putting in the recycle bin, and finally settled down to chew on a rock.  Then she ran around the yard with the rock in her mouth so that I couldn’t get it away from her.  All of this was in a 10 minute span.  When I was done in the yard, she came inside with me and instantly plopped down on the floor next to me while I watched American Idol.  She took a 10 minute nap and then was back at whatever it was she was doing before.  Right now it’s almost 11 p.m. – a little past her (and my) bedtime and she’s here at my feet chewing the dickens out of her stuffed duck toy.  
 
Blacky and Hubby are upstairs asleep and I’ll probably be headed upstairs here in a little bit.  I’m sure that she’ll be asleep within a couple of minutes of going upstairs, but right now she’s just a busy little bee.
 
It makes me tired to watch her.  Sometimes Blacky and I sit on the deck and just watch her run the yard.  I realize that she spends the day cooped up in the house while Hubby and I are at work.  My MIL comes and lets her and Blacky out about lunch time and lets them run the yard for a bit before they have to come back in.  But even on the weekend she’s going top speed the whole day.  Where does she get the energy and how can I get some of it for myself.  She just never ceases to amaze me. 
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Just Half Her Energy

  1. Nikki

    Seriously….just reading about Luci\’s day is making me tired.  She does sound like a ball of energy, huh?  Well  have a good day!

  2. Kim

    Luci is gorgeous!!!!  What fun!

  3. Brenda

    The way you feel is exactly ME while watching my kids.  They sap the energy right out of me, and all I have to do is watch as they bounce off the walls.  Good thing we don\’t have a dog like Luci or I wouldn\’t make it.

  4. Alicia

    Thanks for your visit and your comment…nice to know another woman who can talk football!!  🙂

  5. Grandma

    I wish Luci was my neighbor- somebody who can play and run as much as I can.  My humans are old farts and can\’t even keep up with me walking, let alone running!  I try to be considerate of their age and not drag them too fast, but geez! A puppy can only slow down so much, dontcha know?
     
    Luci- I feel for you, sista!  It\’s a drag living with oldsters, isn\’t it?
    Big Wags,
    Isabella

Leave a Reply

