Thunderstorms, Mud Puddles, and Sleeping Through The Night

I’ve discovered that one of the joys of raising a puppy is experiencing all the "first" things with them.  First snowfall, first bath, first rabbit chase – that kind of stuff.  This weekend Luci experienced her first true springtime thunderstorm.  I started to hear thunder about 4 a.m. Sunday morning and I figured it would wake the dogs, too.  Blacky hates thunderstorms and woke up when he heard the first clap of thunder.  Luci heard Blacky get up and she was up, too.  She didn’t seem afraid of the storm, she thought it was time to play.  We are continuing our experiment on letting Luci sleep upstairs with us, so she was in the bedroom, too, when the storm started.  Since she was up, I thought I’d try to see if she’d go potty in the rain.  I’m in my jammies, tennis shoes, and winter coat with an umbrella trying to get Luci to go potty.  She didn’t mind the rain, but she didn’t like the thunder.  She did her business and back in the house we went.  After I dried her off, she couldn’t get upstairs fast enough.  She wanted to play, but I sat on the floor with her and managed to get her back to sleep in about 5 minutes.  Took Blacky a little longer to calm down, though.  He sat next to Hubby’s side of the bed for a while and then came to my side of the bed.  After about 10 minutes or so, he calmed down and went back to sleep, too. 

 

We got up for the day about 4 hours later and that’s when Luci discovered mud puddles.  With all the rain, the back yard looks like small patches of grass in a sea of mud.  There are a couple of places that had mud puddles in them . . . and those are the places that Luci just had to explore.  And since she loves playing in water she couldn’t resist them.  Luckily I was able to convince her it was time for breakfast and she abandoned the puddles for a little while.  By the time she went back out later in the morning, the yard had dried up a little and the puddles were gone.  Now we have to be careful that she doesn’t dig in the mud.     

 

Hubby and I had a conversation over the weekend about putting Luci in the crate when we aren’t home.  I understand his position and he understands my position.  He doesn’t think it’s fair for a house dog to be in a cage – especially since Blacky has run of the house.  I just want to make sure she doesn’t chew up everything in the house if we leave her alone.  She’s still a puppy that likes to chew things and keeping her in the crate is for her own good.  I’m trying to prevent her from getting into trouble by chewing.  So we compromised.  During the day when we’re at work or we are gone for more than 2 hours, she will be in the crate.  At night, she is allowed to sleep upstairs with us on her little doggy bed but we keep the bedroom door closed so that we can hear her if she gets up in the middle of the night and needs to go potty.  So far the sleeping with us thing has worked – except for the storm she slept through the night all weekend.  The goal is to eventually let her have free run of the house just like Blacky – which I don’t think will happen much before her 1st birthday in September.  

 

So all in all, it was a good weekend. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Thunderstorms, Mud Puddles, and Sleeping Through The Night

  1. Rosebay

    Thanks for stopping by my Space and leaving a comment. You got your hand full with a puppy. My "puppy" is almsot 4 years old now. How time flies. He is still fun and full of life. Enjoy your puppy and give the dog a hug from me.  🙂

  2. Amber

    Good gracious! Your experience with your puppy are equivalent to my experiences with a baby!

  3. Kadrin

    I hope its a big crate? hugs Blabby

  4. Big Dog Mom

    Blabby – Yes, it\’s a big crate and she has plenty of room.  And if she outgrows her current crate, I have a larger one for her to move into.  But I\’m hoping that we can do away with the crates someday and let her have free run of the house.
     
    Amber – I\’ve often said that raising a puppy is good experience for raising a kid.  I can\’t believe the similarities between puppies and babies when they are little.
     
    Rosebay – I remember when Blacky was a puppy and I can\’t believe it was 6 years ago.  And Luci is growing so fast.  My baby girl isn\’t such a baby anymore.  I haven\’t decided if that\’s a good thing or a bad thing.
     
     
     
     

Leave a Reply

