The Invitation

It arrived in my email box at home over the weekend.  The invitation to my 25th High School Reunion. 
 
I’ve never been to any of my high school reunions.  I’ve always had some lame excuse, but this time I’m going and dragging Hubby along (kicking and screaming if I have to!). 
 
I admit that some of the appeal of going to my 25th reunion is to see how badly some of my classmates have aged.  (Yes, I’m that superficial.)  Are the pretty girls still pretty?  Is the guy I had a major crush on in high school still gorgeous?  Did he marry a supermodel?  How did the old boyfriends turn out?  Now, I’ll admit that I’ve got the gray hair, extra pounds, and wrinkles that you’d expect on someone my age.  I want to see if they all have them, too.  And I want to show off the Hubby.  I want everyone to see that I DIDN’T marry the high school boyfriend.  (Long story, not a happy ending.  Remind me to write about it later.)  Now I have to lose 10 lbs in 5 months.  I have to find something decent to wear.  I have to convince Hubby that he really wants to spend the day with people he doesn’t know and will probably never see again. 
 
But I’m really curious about why I’m so excited about this reunion.  I wasn’t one of the cool kids – wasn’t a jock, or a stoner, or popular.  In a graduating class of over 300 kids, I was just part of the background.  Somebody’s friend, somebody’s girlfriend, somebody’s sister.  Never particularly stood out in my own light.  I didn’t have much to do with most of these people when I was in high school and I’m wondering why it’s important for me to see how life turned out for them. Is it because I’m getting older and starting to realize how important connections to your childhood really are?  Is it because I’m a sick person the wants to see that the cool kids and the jocks really did turn out to be normal like the rest of us?  I don’t feel like I’m old enough to be going to a 25 year high school reunion and I wonder if they feel that way too.  Where did the time go? 
 
Only 148 days till I find out the answers . . .
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Invitation

  1. Heather

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my site. I\’ve only read this first one of your posts but, I plan on meandering further back when I get a little time.
     
    I skipped my 10 and 15 year reunions, mostly because I didn\’t live anywhere nearby at the time and had no interest in spending the money to get myself there to attend. Maybe I\’ll feel differently when my 25th Reunion rolls around? Doubt it though. I transfered high schools in my senior year – to the cross town rival school. Just because. My best friend had moved away, my boyfriend was in France on a mission for our church, I just felt like I needed the change. One year in a high school isn\’t much time to make lasting friendships or even really lasting memories. I just sorta floated through on my way to better things – life. I was never into the social aspect of high school. I hope you have a great time at your reunion though. I\’m looking forward to reading about your observations!

  2. Nadine

     I did go back the 20th just see if the mean girls were fat!! It is what they deserved!! I did lose 15 pounds to just make them seem fatter though in high school I was 102! And a far cry from it now! the Great looking Football Jock was in prison on drug charges. and NOBODY really wanted to remember the old days but to catch up on what we were all doing now. I had fun….but it would have been better if we had more people turn out. I think it was poorly planned.
    I think TBN is taking a break. Just leave him a message on mine He will read it and maybe he will start in again. He had such a bad time with the Fat Sects!! I am good with me. I only wish other folks could be the same and know a joke when it is just a joke!
     
    Come visit any time!! I will have to come back later and get caught up on you when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

