Raising A Puppy

Luci is our 5 month old black lab puppy.  She came to live with us when she was 8 weeks old.  It had been over 6 years since there had been a puppy in the house, and I forgot how much hard work it is to raise a puppy.  Especially a lab puppy.  I have had my hands full with Luci from the minute I first laid eyes on her.  The first few days, Hubby, Blacky, and I were all thinking "what have we done?" 

 

Luci is a wonderful dog and I do truly love her.  She’s a mischievous little devil – which is why she’s named Lucifer.  Everything goes in her mouth.  Rocks, twigs, pine cones, socks, dryer sheets, refrigerator magnets, my gardening shovel, and my pajamas.  She’s found an Allen wrench that Hubby lost last summer.  She’d rather eat Blacky’s adult dog food than her own puppy food.  If she’s not supposed to have it – then she’s determined to get it.  She’s a counter surfer and if it’s really interesting, she has to see what’s up there.  Last night, she wanted to "watch" me wash dishes.   If she has something she’s not supposed to have in her mouth, she’ll go under the kitchen table and sit quietly hoping that I won’t see her. 

 

She loves the bathtub – even if there’s no water in it.  She’ll just get in the tub and sit there.  She wants to watch when we brush our teeth – because she wants to lick at the water coming out of the faucet.  She loves to chase her tail and she’ll spin until she’s dizzy.  If she’s tired, she’ll wander aimlessly through the house until I sit down with her and make her take a nap. 

 

But she’s not totally bad – which is why her middle name is Raphael.  She can be a little angel, too.  Usually when she’s asleep.  We’re crate training her, and she’s never messed in her crate.  She’s slept through the night from day one.  She was housebroke in less than two months.  We haven’t had an accident in the house in quite a while.  She’s learned the household routine really quickly and has even reminded me of what we’re supposed to be doing next.  She was a little stubborn during obedience class and didn’t want to listen to me.  Some of that was my fault because I wasn’t using my "mommy voice," and some if it was that she was the youngest dog in the class and the instructor told me that was to be expected.  She learned the commands quickly and performed them perfectly – in class.  Home is a totally different story – but she’s getting better. 

 

She’s gone from a 13 lb. baby dog to a 50 lb. big girl – and I’ve loved every minute of it.  Remind me of that the next time she’s getting on my nerves.  From what I hear, she’s going to be this rambunctious for at least the next 18 months!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

